FLC Icon

2020 Legislative Awards 

The Florida League of Cities is recognizing dozens of legislators for their work during the 2020 Legislative Session to protect the Home Rule authority of Florida’s municipalities. 

The League is presenting its Legislative Appreciation Award to 24 legislators and recognizing two with prestigious Defender of Home Rule Awards. 

Legislative Appreciation Award recipients are legislators who have advocated on behalf of the League and its member cities time after time. These lawmakers consistently voted in support of the League’s policy positions, offered amendments to help prevent preemptions and unfunded mandates and worked behind the scenes to rally support for local self-government throughout session. The list of 2020 recipients can be found below.

The Defender of Home Rule Award is the League’s most prestigious legislative award and is given only to those legislators who consistently voted and advocated on behalf of the League and its member cities during session. This year's Defenders of Home Rule are Senator Jason Pizzo (District 38) and Representative Dan Daley (District 97). 

“The League’s mantra is ‘local voices making local choices” and we believe the government closest to the people should make the decisions that affect the quality of life of those citizens they’ve been elected to represent,” said FLC Legislative Director Scott Dudley. “These legislators supported that ideal, and we owe them a great deal of thanks. On behalf of Florida’s 412 cities and its thousands of municipal officials, the League and its legislative team are proud to recognize these legislators and we thank them for their support.”

Each recipient will be presented with their award at a future date.

  • Senator Rob Bradley, District 5
  • Senator Gary Farmer, District 34
  • Senator Tom Lee, District 20
  • Senator Debbie Mayfield, District 17
  • Senator Kathleen Passidomo, District 28
  • Senator Bobby Powell, District 30
  • Senator David Simmons, District 9
  • Senator Linda Stewart, District 13
  • Senator Victor Torres, District 15
  • Representative Loranne Ausley, District 9
  • Representative Kamia Brown, District 45
  • Representative Ben Diamond, District 68
  • Representative Bobby DuBose, District 94
  • Representative Javier Fernandez, District 114
  • Representative Randy Fine, District 53
  • Representative Joe Geller, District 100
  • Representative Margaret Good, District 72
  • Representative Evan Jenne, District 99
  • Representative Sam Killebrew, District 41
  • Representative Chip LaMarca, District 93
  • Representative Mel Ponder, District 4
  • Representative Rick Roth, District 85
  • Representative Richard Stark, District 104
  • Representative Jennifer Webb, District 69